Monday, August 19, 2013

2013 Locarno Film Festival Award Winners

The 66th Locarno Film Festival came to an end this weekend, with the closing awards ceremony held Saturday (August 17) evening at the Piazza Grande.

The international competition jury presided by Filipino director Lav Diaz awarded this year's Golden Leopard (Pardo d'oro) for Best Feature Film to Story of my Death (Historia de la meva mort) from Spanish director Albert Serra. A Spanish/French co-production set in 18th century France, about an imagined meeting between Casanova and Dracula.

Ever prolific South Korean director Hong Sang-soo won the prize for Best Directing, with his latest work titled Our Sunhi.

The Silver Leopard for Best Actor went to Fernando Bacilio for his role in El Mudo, from Peruvian directors Daniel and Diego Vega.

While the Best Actress trophy went to Brie Larson for her role in Short Term 12 (a film you may have already heard about, it took home two prizes earlier this year at SXSW) by Hawaiian director Destin Cretton, which also picked up a Special Jury Mention. This American drama to look out for, follows a 20-something supervisor at a foster care facility for troubled teenagers.

Read on for the list of winners from the Concorso internazionale section of the 2013 Festival del film Locarno:

Pardo d'oro - Golden Leopard for Best Feature Film (90,000 CHF)
  • Story of my Death (Historia de la meva mort)
    directed by Albert Serra
    Spain France
Premio speciale della giuria - Special Jury Prize (30,000 CHF)
  • E Agora? Lembra-Me
    directed by Joaquim Pinto
Pardo per la migliore regia - Silver Leopard for Best Director (30,000 CHF)
  • Hong Sang-soo
    for the film Our Sunhi (우리 선희)
    South Korea
Pardo per la miglior interpretazione femminile - Best Actress
  • Brie Larson
    in the film Short Term 12
    directed by Destin Cretton
Pardo per la miglior interpretazione maschile - Best Actor
  • Fernando Bacilio
    in the film El Mudo
    directed by Daniel Vega and Diego Vega
Special Mention
  • Short Term 12
    directed by Destin Cretton
  • Tableau Noir
    directed by Yves Yersin

View the full list of winners at the Official Festival Site.

No comments:

Post a Comment